Sunday, May 11, 2014

The Fire Wish by Amber Lough Review

Title: The Fire Wish
Author: Amber Lough
Age Group: Teen/Young Adult
Genre: Fantasy
Series: Jinni Wars, book one
Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
The bottom line: A magical, enchanting debut, overall I loved The Fire Wish--a diverse, new novel that I loved and will definitely read once more, highly recommended for fans of Aladdin and The Arabian Nights!

This book was given to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

In a brutal war between jinni and humans in the rich setting of medieval Baghdad, two girls unwittingly cross paths.. And when they do, their worlds are changed forever. Najwa must pretend to be a human princess, and Zayele must pretend to be a jinni, a being of sand, fire, and magic. Rushing to find a way to fix their mistake in the midst of a bloody war, the girls must find their way back home, and to each other, before it's too late..

What I enjoyed:
-The unique, brand new premise of the novel--jinni!--and that alone meant I had to have it!
-The rich, glittering setting of medieval Baghdad, beautiful and enchanting--it was definitely different and I really felt like I was there, experiencing everything
-Najwa and Zayele, two equally sympathetic main characters, in entirely different ways--I also liked that the novel took place in medieval Baghdad--the characters were diverse
-The dual point of view, giving a layer of humanity and depth to the novel
-The equally magical, enchanting Jinni Kingdom
-Atish and Kamal
-The vizier, at times reminiscent of Jafar from Aladdin
-The endless twists and turns
-The ending--it was perfect and I can't wait to see what happens next

What could've been better:
-At times for me the pacing suffered and I found the novel difficult to follow
-I wish more had been explained about the girls' origin, and about the magical world they live in

I really enjoyed The Fire Wish, despite some minor issues--an excellent book! Next on deck: Tomorrow There Will Be Apricots by Jessica Soffer!  

No comments:

Post a Comment