Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Ghosting by Edith Pattou Review

Title: Ghosting
Author: Edith Pattou
Age Group: Teen/Young Adult
Genre: Contemporary Fiction
Series: N/A
Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
The bottom line: A rich contemporary mystery told in free verse from multiple points of view, I highly enjoyed Ghosting--a wonderful debut perfect for fans of Ellen Hopkins!

This book was given to me by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Five teenagers, some illegal substances, romance, and a little fun.. Sounds like a normal night, right? Wrong. When the night goes horribly awry, the group of kids find their lives changed forever, and the secrets they try so hard to hide are exposed.. But with foolish actions, one, or more of them, may not make it out of a such a  reckless night alive..

What I enjoyed:
-I loved the pacing of this novel--it was breakneck and as the suspense ratcheted up, I couldn't put it down--it was perfect for a thriller
-I liked the style in which the story was told, contemporary free-verse, reminiscent of international bestseller Ellen Hopkins
-The multiple points of view added depth to the novel, and added to the high-paced suspense
-I also enjoyed all of the characters, especially Emma, Walter, Maxie, Felix, Brendan, and Anil--I liked the way they all seemed normal on the surface, but their hidden facets were exposed throughout the novel
-I liked the way the mystery kept me frantically turning pages
-I really, really liked the ending, especially, because it did justice to all the characters and was very satisfying

What could've been better:
-At times it was hard to keep up with the novel
-Felix's parents, particularly his father
-Brendan's father
-I would've liked more information divulged in Walter's background

I really, really liked Ghosting--highly recommended for fans of contemporary fiction and Ellen Hopkins! Next on deck: A Song for Ella Grey by David Almond!

No comments:

Post a Comment