Sunday, September 7, 2014

Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes by Elizabeth Bard Review

Title: Lunch in Paris: A Love Story, with Recipes
Author: Elizabeth Bard
Age Group: Adult
Genre: Nonfiction/Memoir
Series: N/A
Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars
The bottom line: This delightful morsel of a memoir, a story of self-discovery, humanity, and sheer love of food and family, was like traveling in Paris with a friend--I really enjoyed it! Humorous, honest, and wonderful!

This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Elizabeth Bard has always been a girl more practical than not. But on a visit to Paris, she falls in love with a new man named Gwendal, as well as having a passionate love affair with French food, and the country itself. She navigates her relationships, explores herself, and tries her best to not obviously be an American tourist in Paris--all the while trying to really figure herself and her life out.


What I enjoyed:
-I loved the pacing of this novel--from its start, I couldn't put it down!
-The gorgeous setting of gay Paris, with its beauty and all its eccentricities 
-I really enjoyed the author--I really related to her, and she was very human to me--she struggled to find herself, to navigate her way through an unfamiliar country, and I liked the way she was so honest, almost to a fault--and her journey through cooking was highly enjoyable
-The people that Bard loves, lovingly described, particularly Gwendal, the charming young Frenchman who stole our narrator's heart--it is obvious that the family is very close-knit and very loving, and it was enjoyable
-The descriptions of the food were exquisite, mouthwatering--this is definitely a keeper for readers who loved Julie and Julia, and Eat Pray Love
-Gwendal's family
-Elizabeth's parents--as I said before, everyone was undeniably, almost brutally, human, and it was refreshing
-I loved the letter to the reader at the end of the book--I can't wait to read more of Elizabeth's journey

What could've been better:
-At times it got hard to follow where everyone was in Europe at the time
-Sometimes the descriptions of Paris's doctors and governments freaked me out a little


Overall, I highly enjoyed this memoir! Highly recommended for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert, Julie Powell, and Julia Child! Next on deck: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno!

No comments:

Post a Comment