Sunday, February 15, 2015

Inked by Eric Smith Review

Title: Inked
Author: Eric Smith
Age Group: Teen/Young Adult
Genre: High Fantasy
Series: Inked, book one
Star Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This book was given to me by the publisher, Bloomsbury, through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I haven't told you guys this before, but I love tattoos--I have three of them myself. A sprout on my left wrist, and 'It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live-Albus Dumbledore' on my arms, and the quote starts on my right arm and ends on my left And when I saw the description of Inked, (magic associated with tattoos! Eeee!) I was all over it.

I liked the high fantasy feel of it, and I loved the way Eric Smith found a way to make tattoos--now, for the most part, part of mainstream society--magical. I also really enjoyed the way that the world was ruled by the Citadel--evil people who want destruction and power, even if it costs lives. This book was a wonderful adventure, perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and the Olympians. But there was one thing that bothered me though: The world-building. It wasn't explained very well.

The characters, too, are what made me love this book: Caenum, afraid of his Inking, Dreya, his best friend and maybe something more, Kenzi, the reluctant runaway, and of course all the characters you meet as the story goes on. I really enjoyed the way that all the characters were relatable and flawed. If a book has characters that I can't relate to, simply put, my ass isn't wasting my time! The bottom line: Despite its minor flaws, Inked makes a wonderful young adult debut! Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Sara Raasch! Next on deck: The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller!

No comments:

Post a Comment